Brandy Oolong Kombucha and Sweet Roast Lei Cha

On the left, we have Lei Cha, a ground up medley of nuts, seeds, grains, tea, and tea powder brewed in hot water traditionally drunk by the Hakka people of Taiwan. (Click here to see my previous post on Lei Cha with pictures).

I used sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, cashews, Taiwanese high mountain Jade Oolong Tea, and ground up Sweet Roast (to a fine powder) from Mauna Kea Tea. These ingredients are ground together using a mortar and pestle. This hearty broth is actually quite enjoyable and filling. The batch I made here is a little more crude than the Lei Cha we made in Taiwan, but it’s a good Hawai’i version to start with :)

Pictured above right and below, I made some Kombucha using Ruby 18 Brandy Oolong Tea from Taiwan. Kombucha is a fermented beverage often made with tea. It becomes quite carbonated and takes on a sweet and sour or sugary and vinegar-like taste. This particular batch was my first and it turned out great. I’ve now tried other batches with different tea, but Ruby 18 has proven superior and I will continue to ferment with it.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by DAD on January 3, 2012 at 5:12 PM

    Makes one thirsty AND hungry at the same time!

    Reply

  2. Shane, I found in the local Oriental Food Mkt. the same mortar and pestle we used in Taiwan to make the Lei Cha. It sure looked the same anyway. You did not mention peanuts which they used a lot of…I am looking forward to trying this myself. paula

    Reply

    • yeah, I wish I had one of those mortars and pestle! I had to use this tiny little thing that took a lot more energy and yielded much less! Yes, I guess I should include peanuts (I used cashews instead, myself).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

